Wonders of the World

Friday 17 May 2013

Various lists of the Wonders of the World have been compiled from antiquity to the present day, to catalogue the world's most spectacular natural wonders and manmade structures. The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World is the first known list of the most remarkable creations of classical antiquity, and was based on guide-books popular among Hellenic sight-seers and only includes works located around the Mediterranean rim. The number seven was chosen because the Greeks believed it to be the representation of perfection and plenty and also because it was the number of the five planets known anciently plus the sun and moon. Many similar lists have been made.

Wonders of the World

List of 7 Wonders of the World:

1. Chichén Itza (Mexico)
2. Christ the Redeemer (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
3. The Great Wall of China (China)
4. Machu Picchu (Peru)
5. Petra (Jordan)
6. The Roman Coliseum (Italy)
7. The Taj Mahal (India)

No comments:

Post a Comment